SAA is hosting a biannual meeting on 23rd March 2022 at its Headquarters, Accra, Ghana, to elect its new Executive Board. In accordance with the SAA constitution, the Governing Board consist of ten (10) elected members from the five (5) zones of Africa. Per article 10.1 of the SAA constitution, the following members have been elected; ; Dr. Ilunga Ina Mutombo Eleonore, DR Congo, Hon. Wamala Florence Nambozo, Uganda, Dr. Emmy J. Chesire, Kenya, Pr. Mohamed Chakroun, Tunisia, Prof. Morenike Oluwatoyin Ukpong,  Nigeria, Dr Aliou Sylla, Mali, Hon. Dr. David Parirenyatwa, Zimbabwe, Dr. Nonhlanhla Ignatia Ndlovu, South Africa to replace the outgoing board members; Prof. John Idoko, Nigeria, Prof. Tandakha Ndiaye Dieye, Senegal, Hon. Dr. David Pagwesese Parirenyatwa, Zimbabwe, Dr. Namwinga Chintu, Zambia, Prof. Samuel E. Kalluvya, Tanzania, Professor James Hakim, Zambia and Mrs. Sahra Guleid, Somaliland. The aim of this meeting is to elect new executive members (The President, Vice President, Secretary-General, Deputy Secretary-General, Treasurer, and Deputy Treasurer) and hand over from the 6th Executive Board to the 7th Executive Board.

An inaugural ceremony will be held on 24th March 2022 at 8:30am at the Africa Regent Hotel, Accra, Ghana, to outdoor the elected 7th Executive Board.

In line with the SAA Constitution, the governing council will constitute 10 prominent members with the mandate to facilitate, develop mechanisms and strategies to promote the core objectives of SAA, institute policies and promote research to support governments’ national responses and approaches to fight HIV and HIV co-morbidities as well as emerging viral infections across the continent.

On behalf of all staff and stakeholders of SAA and ICASA, the ICASA Director/SAA Coordinator, Mr. Luc Armand Bodea wishes to welcome the new Executive board.

Share this post